Go To Search
Click to Home
Site Tools
Local Government Education Week
The Loudoun County Board of Supervisors traditionally proclams the first week of April as Local Government Education Week. The week serves to focus attention on the valuable services provided by local governments to the communities they serve. In an effort to promote civic engagement and education, we present some facts about your local government.

Form of Government
Link to mapLoudoun County operates under the "traditional" form of government and is governed by a nine-member Board of Supervisors, whose Chair is elected by the voters at large. The other eight Supervisors are elected from each of eight election districts in the county. The current Board members were elected to four-year terms in 2015. The current members are:
Not sure which Supervisor represents you? 
Click here or on the map at right to find out. 

Board Appointees
The Board of Supervisors appoints a County Administrator to manage county operations, the Planning Commission, which serves in an advisory capacity on land use issue, and other advisory boards, committees, and commissions.  

Constitutional Officers

Under the traditional form of government, Loudoun County also has five elected Constitutional Officers. The current Constitutional Officers are:Clerk of the Circuit Court Gary Clemens, Commissioner of the Revenue Bob Wertz, Commonwealth’s Attorney Jim Plowman, Sheriff Mike Chapman and Treasurer Roger Zurn.

County Government Services
Loudoun County provides a variety of services, such as public health and safety, recreational opportunities, and administration of elections, to name just a few.  Some of the most popular services are those provided by the Department of  Animal Services and the Loudoun County Public Library. In the most recent survey of residents conducted by the county, residents gave high marks to Loudoun County for the quality of services provided. 

The Fiscal Year 2018 Loudoun County budget totals approximately $2.5 billion in total appropriations for the general county government and school system.  

Economic Development
With excellent access to major markets and a robust transportation and internet infrastructure, Loudoun is an attractive location for companies of all sizes and industries. Up to 70 percent of the world's Internet traffic passes through Loudoun County on a daily basis. Loudoun is also home to nearly 1,400 farms, totaling 142,000=plus acres as well as 40 wineries. Learn more from the Department of Economic Development

The population of Loudoun County has more than tripled since 1990, from 100,000 to an estimated 392,711. A quick look at the county's facts and figures is online here with more in-depth demographic information online here.

County Seat
Leesburg has served continuously as the county seat since the county was formed in 1757. During the War of 1812, in which the British burned the White House, Loudoun County served briefly as a temporary refuge for the president and important state papers. The Constitution and other state papers were brought to Rokeby, near Leesburg, for safekeeping. President Madison established headquarters at Belmont, where he was the guest of Ludwell Lee. The present courthouse is the third courthouse in the county's history. The Historic Records & Deed Research Division of the Clerk of the Circuit Court maintains county court records dating to 1757. Loudoun contains one of the most complete collections of court records in Virginia. 

Loudoun County has seven incorporated towns. They are: 


Loudoun County was formed in 1757, when, by act of the Virginia House of Burgesses, Fairfax County was divided. The western portion was named Loudoun for John Campbell, the fourth earl of Loudoun, a Scottish nobleman who served as commander-in-chief for all British armed forces in North America and titular governor of Virginia from 1756 to 1759. Learn more about Loudoun's history as well as about the county's Coat of Arms, County Flag and County Seal.

Loudoun On
Site Tools