Heritage Commission


  • 6:30 p.m
  • First Tuesday of every month
  • Loudoun County Government Center
    Purcellville Room
    1 Harrison Street, SE
    Leesburg, VA 20175

Please view the Loudoun County Government Master Calendar for confirmation of the date, time and location of meetings. Information will be posted at least three days prior to a meeting.

Inclement Weather Policy

Please note that on days when Loudoun County Public Schools are closed due to inclement weather, meetings of the Board of Supervisors' advisory boards, committees and commissions are canceled.


There are sixteen members of the commission to include one commissioner from each election district, one at-large commissioner, and six commissioners with knowledge in some or all of the following.

  • History, preservation, restoration, and adaptive residential or commercial use of historic buildings
  • Loudoun County's prehistoric and historic archaeology and preservation of material culture and sites
  • Conservation of Loudoun County's natural environment
  • History and culture of the people and places of Loudoun County
  • Heritage tourism, business, financial, and philanthropic sectors in heritage preservation
  • Public and private institutions and organizations that contribute to the identification, documentation, promotion, preservation, and celebration of Loudoun County's heritage resources
  • African-American history

Current Projects


The staff contact for the Heritage Commission is John Merrithew. Email John Merrithew or call 703-777-0246.