Concealed Handgun Permits
Applicants have two options for submitting concealed handgun applications to the clerk of the circuit court. Applicants can hand-deliver applications to the clerk of the circuit court during normal business hours at the Loudoun County Courts Complex located at 18 East Market Street in Leesburg, Virginia. The circuit court clerk's office is located on the 3rd floor of the Courts Complex.
Applicants may mail their application to the clerk of the circuit court to the following address:
Clerk of the Circuit Court
Attn: Civil Division
P.O. Box 550
Leesburg, VA 20178
Applications that are mailed for filing must be notarized by a notary public and must include proper payment for filing.
Applicants should carefully review the application and ensure all information is provided. The application should be typed or legibly handwritten in black ink only. If the space provided in the application is insufficient for some responses, any additional information that is required can be attached to the application. Attachments should be legible and clear. Typed information on attached documents is preferred to ensure the information is legible.
The application must be signed by the applicant and the applicant's signature notarized by a notary public. In order to apply for a concealed handgun permit, residents are asked to print out an application from the Clerk of Circuit Court website and click on Concealed Handgun Permits on the left-hand side of the home page.
You can also download the application on the Virginia State Police website and click on Forms and Publications and then click on Firearms. Here you will find a downloadable version of the application for a concealed handgun permit.
Pick Up Applications
Residents may also pick-up an application at:
Loudoun County Sheriff's Office Administrative Office
803 Sycolin Road, SE
Loudoun County Sheriff's Office Dulles South Station
25216 Loudoun County Parkway
Eastern Loudoun Station
46620 East Frederick Drive
Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court
18 East Market Street
All applications are to be hand-delivered or mailed to the clerk of the circuit court
Application Filing Fees
The filing fee for the concealed handgun application is $40. Applicants who deliver their application in person at the clerk's office have the option of paying by credit card, check, cash or money order. Applicants who mail in the application must pay be check or money order. Checks and money orders should be made payable to the "Clerk of the Circuit Court." A fee of $50 will be assessed for returned checks due to stop-payment and insufficient funds.
The background investigation fee for the Loudoun County Sheriff is included in the application filing fee.
Proof of Proficiency
Applicants must provide proof of proficiency to use a handgun as part of the application. The following certificates/documents are typically provided to demonstrate proficiency:
- Firearm Qualification Certificate
- Military Discharge Papers (DD214)
- Hunter Safety Certificate
- Law Enforcement Certification
The Loudoun County Sheriff's Office conducts a criminal background check on each applicant. Once the application has been successfully filed with the clerk of the circuit court, the Sheriff's Office will typically complete the background check within two (2) business days. The fee for the background check is included with the filing fee.
Review & Processing of Application
Once the Sheriff's Office has completed the background investigation and provided the results to the clerk's office, the application is reviewed by the circuit court judges. State law requires action on the application by 45 days. On average, applications are reviewed within 21 business days, however Loudoun County is experiencing an increase in the number of applications filed. Due to an increase in applications and other caseload, it may take 30 days to complete the review process. Applications that are approved by the Court will result in issuance of a permit by the clerk of the circuit court. Unless otherwise requested by the applicant, the permit will be mailed to the applicant at the address provided on the application. Applicants may request that the clerk contact the applicant when the permit has been issued to make arrangements to pick up the permit in person.
Duration of Permit
A concealed handgun permit is valid for 5 years from the date of approval by the Court. Current permit holders who wish to proceed with the renewal of a permit should file an application for renewal in advance of the expiration date of the current permit. More information about renewing a permit visit the Clerk of Court permits page.
Lost Permits / Change of Address
A current permit holder may obtain a replacement permit from the clerk of the circuit court if a permit is lost, damaged or in the event that the permit holder moves to a new residence. For more information about replacement permits visit the Clerk of Court permits page.