Vital Records Services

Please note: Vital Records Services are offered at the Health Department Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. -  4:00 p.m.
The Loudoun County Health Department Office of Vital Records issues certified copies of vital records (or “certificates”) for these events that occurred in Virginia:
  • Births - June 1912+
  • Marriages - 1936+
  • Divorces - 1918+
  • Deaths - June 1912+

Vital records are available for oneself or immediate family members only: mother, father, husband, wife, adult son or daughter, brother, sister, grandparents and adult grandchildren with valid identification. Aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, ex-spouses, etc. cannot obtain a vital record. Birth records become public information after 100 years while death, marriage and divorce records are public information after 25 years.

The fee for a vital record is $12.00 for each certificate, copy and/or search of a vital record. Please note: regardless if a record is located, there is a $12 fee for the initial record search. If the search is not able to locate the requested record, the request will be sent to the Virginia Department of Health’s Division of Vital Records in Richmond to process. The Division of Vital Records will then mail the certificate if located.

Note: Currently the Loudoun County Health Department Office of Vital Records only accepts cash and check payment.