The Initial Start-Up brochure for Food Trucks within Loudoun County (PDF) provides regulations based on the Statewide Virginia Fire Code. Contact the Fire Marshal’s Office if there are additional questions. In addition other departments in the county such as the Health Department and Sheriff’s Office also have procedures for food trucks.
Show All Answers
If the tent is greater than 900 square feet, you must contact the Fire Marshal's Office for a use permit. The number to call is 703-737-8600. You can also visit the fire marshal page and download the application which will also provide important information. Tent applications should be submitted no less than 10 business days prior to the event.Note: Your tent may also require a construction permit. Contact the Department of Building and Development at 703-777-0220 to see if one is required. If you are cooking or serving food, you must also contact the Health Department. The number to call is 703-777-0234. Cooking tents are to be used exclusively for cooking with no seating or serving and must be separated by at least 20 feet from all other tents. More information about planning for special events in Loudoun County is available at Special Events.
Yes. Any firework that explodes, rises into the air, moves across the ground or shoots projectiles into the air, is illegal to possess in Virginia. These devices include firecrackers, roman candles, pop bottle rockets, as well as shell devices used at public displays. The Fire Marshal's Office recommends that only fireworks sold at retail stands in Loudoun County be used. They may not be used on public property, including streets and roads. You can also find a list of permissible fireworks, approved vendors, and public displays on our Fire Marshal page.Note: Although it is fairly easy to obtain these items by going across state lines, possession and use of these devices is a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia, punishable by up to 1 year in jail and/or a $2500 fine. Depending on the classification of the device, federal explosives charges could also be imposed for interstate transport.
Application permits can be found by visiting the Loudoun County Fire Marshal Code Enforcement page.
October 1, 2013 – February 14, 2014. For more information about Open Burn Regulations visit our Open Burning page.
You can contact the Public Education Manager at 703-737-8093 or via email.
Contact the Public Education Manager at 703-737-8093 or via email.
Please call the Loudoun County Fire Marshal's Office at 703-737-8600 for detailed information on proper disposal of ammunition, fireworks, or any explosive materials.