The county assesses personal property on the assumption that it is in fair condition for its age. The vehicle or motorcycle owner can request a review of the assessment if a vehicle or motorcycle is not in average condition as of January 1 of the tax year because of high mileage, extensive un-repaired body damage or serious mechanical defects. This does not include normal wear and tear on tires, seals, battery, gaskets, pumps, hoses, belts, brake system, cooling system, electrical and ignition system, fuel system, exhaust system and front-end parts. Appealing your assessment does not guarantee that it will be reduced. If your appeal is for high mileage, please submit an appeal form and attach a copy of the latest safety inspection slip, vehicle or motorcycle repair or similar documentation which shows the mileage. You may submit your January 1 mileage online by February 1 each year if you wish to have high mileage considered in the annual assessment process. If this is done, you do not have to submit an official assessment appeal form to our office. For extensive un-repaired body damage or serious mechanical defects, please submit an appeal form and an itemized estimate from an automobile repair facility on business letterhead detailing the extent of damage and the cost to repair the vehicle. Other acceptable documentation would be a copy of an insurance company estimate describing the condition and cost to repair the damage. It must be clear from the documents provided that the condition existed on January 1 of the tax year. All appeals must be received by December 31 of the tax year being appealed. Appeals are reviewed in the order received. Please allow up to 60 days for processing. The tax bill is still required to be paid by the respective due date. If the assessment is later reduced as a result of the appeal, the county will issue a tax refund. The Commissioner recommends that, to avoid a late payment penalty, you pay your bill in full, have the assessment corrected, then receive a refund based on the corrected assessment.
Show All Answers
Taxable personal property consists of motor vehicles, trailers, campers, mobile homes, boats, airplanes and business personal property. You are required to file online with the Commissioner of the Revenue within 60 days of acquiring or bringing such property into Loudoun County or one of Loudoun's seven incorporated towns. This applies to all vehicles owned by individuals or businesses, whether titled in Virginia or out of state.
A vehicle has situs for taxation in Loudoun County if it is garaged, stored or parked in the county for more than 60 days or registered to a Loudoun County address with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. This includes vehicles that do not run, and vehicles garaged in another state if Virginia registration is maintained. When a vehicle ceases to be registered in Virginia and/or becomes registered elsewhere, supporting documentation may be sent to our office by fax to 703-777-0263 or by e-mail. Our office will review and adjust your vehicle’s ending tax liability date in Loudoun County based on the information provided. Virginia Code Section 58.1-3511 specifies when a vehicle is subject to assessment for personal property taxes.
Yes. Virginia State Code requires that all Virginia localities value tangible personal property as of a fixed date. This date, often referred to as “tax day," is January 1, regardless of when a vehicle may have been purchased or located in Loudoun County.
Loudoun County uses publications from The National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) as the primary valuation guides for personal property assessment purposes, as do all 134 cities and counties in Virginia. In arriving at the used vehicle values published in its valuation guides, NADA collects and analyzes over half a million auto-related transactions per month, including both wholesale and retail sales. NADA collects its data from a number of sources, including automobile manufacturers, new and used vehicle dealers and over 165 automobile auctions nationwide. Additionally, NADA considers economic trends, geographic location, weather and environmental factors in the analysis of its automobile valuation data.
Due to various market factors, values for some vehicles may be higher as of January 1 of the current year than they were on January 1 of the previous year. This rise in vehicle value may be due to increased demand or diminished supply for a particular vehicle model or vehicle type, gas price fluctuations or other factors affecting vehicle sales, such as government or manufacturer incentives.
Vehicle values in 2022 are higher due to the lingering effects of the COVID-19 pandemic and includes more vehicle makes and models than would usually be affected in a normal year. Car manufacturing plants are encountering computer chip shortages creating a reduction in the availability of new cars. The lack of new cars generated more sales in the used car market and is driving up used car values. Also, vehicle owners are holding onto their current vehicles longer due to economic factors brought on by COVID-19, creating a decrease in the number of used cars on the market. Market experts believe this will likely continue until car manufacturers can meet market demands.
In an effort to accurately determine the value of vehicles and motorcycles, the Commissioner of the Revenue considers high mileage. Please refer to the Mileage Chart for required mileages.
Taxicabs are considered a separate class of property for valuation purposes as defined in Virginia Code Section 58.1-3503, and are taxed at the general personal property rate, which is currently $4.15. Due to excessive wear and high mileage, taxicabs are assessed at 50% of the clean loan value published in the January 1, Eastern Edition N.A.D.A. (National Automobile Dealers Association) Official Used Car Guide or the January 1, National Edition N.A.D.A. Official Older Used Car Guide. Prior model year vehicles not listed in the guide are assessed at 37.5% of the MSRP. Current model year vehicles not listed in the guide are assessed at 45% of the MSRP as listed in the New Car Cost Guide. Subsequent model year vehicles not listed in the guide are assessed at 50% of cost as reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles. Since taxicabs are used for business purposes, they do not qualify for personal property tax relief.
Loudoun's local ordinance 860.05, exempts from local taxation as household goods and personal effects, antique motor vehicles, as defined in Section 46.2-100 of the Code of Virginia as amended, which are not used for general transportation purposes.
Additionally, due to the difficult nature of determining the condition of vehicles 25 years or older, antique vehicles as defined in § 46.2-100 which may be used for general transportation purposes as provided in subsection C of Virginia State Code 46.2-730 are assessed in Loudoun at a flat $100 assessment. At the current $4.15 rate, the bill is below the county's collection threshold. The result is no tax bill on vehicles 25 years of age or older.
Recreational vehicles, motor homes and campers are assessed based on a percentage of the original cost. Assessments begin at 70 percent of cost and decline by 10 percent each year until the assessment reaches 20 percent of the original cost. These vehicles do not qualify for personal property tax relief. These vehicle are prorated based on the number of months the vehicle has taxable situs in the county or one of Loudoun’s incorporated towns.
RV purchased in the current year for $25,000.
$25,000 X .70 = $17,500 assessed value
Camper purchased 3 years ago for $10,000.
$10,000 X .50 = $5,000 assessed value
Motor home purchased 5 years ago for $175,000.
$175,000 X .30 = $52,500 assessed value