Go To Search
Click to Home
Site Tools
Prohibited Open Burning in Loudoun County
Prohibited Open Burning

  • On a year round basis, open burning is always prohibited in the town limits of Leesburg, Lovettsville, Middleburg, Purcellville, Round Hill, and subdivisions ("urban or built up areas") throughout the county.
  • Similarly, open burning is prohibited countywide (towns included) during the period of May 1 through September 30 of each year unless approved by the Loudoun County Fire Marshal’s Office. Campfires, no larger than three feet in diameter by two feet in height and used for cooking purposes, are exempt from these prohibitions, provided they are no closer than 50 feet from a structure.
  • During the period of February 15 through April 30, open burning is prohibited countywide (towns included), between midnight and 4:00 pm unless approved by the Virginia Department of Forestry at 703-777-0457. See Department of Forestry (DOF)  4 p.m. Burning Law for more information.
  • The burning of construction debris, plastics, tires, tar based materials, oil or petroleum based products, hazardous materials, chemicals, animal carcasses, and similar materials or waste is prohibited countywide (towns included).
  • Burning of household trash, garbage, refuse, household waste, commercial waste, construction waste, combustible liquid, debris waste, hazardous waste, impregnated lumber, junk, rubber, plastics, stumps, tires, tar based materials, oil or petroleum based products, products of salvage operations, chemicals, animal carcasses and similar materials is prohibited.
  • Open burning that is offensive or objectionable because of smoke or odor emissions or when atmospheric conditions or local circumstances make such fires hazardous shall be prohibited.

Loudoun On
Site Tools