Go To Search
Click to Home
Site Tools
Route 28 Tax District Advisory Board
General Purpose
In 1987, the Route 28 Highway Transportation Improvement District was formed in Loudoun and Fairfax Counties.  Oversight of the Route 28 Tax District is provided by the Route 28 District Commission composed of nine members – four each from the Loudoun and Fairfax County Boards of Supervisors and the Virginia Secretary of Transportation.  The Virginia State Code provision that forms the Route 28 Tax District also establishes an advisory board to be comprised of 12 landowners or their representatives.  The role of the advisory board is to make an annual report to the District Commission on the needs of the district and the activities of the advisory board.

The advisory board is composed of six members each from Loudoun and Fairfax Counties.  Of the six from each county, three are selected by the corresponding Boards and three are elected by the landowners in each county to serve four-year terms.  Members appointed or elected to the Route 28 Tax District Advisory Board must own or represent a landowner of commercial or industrial property within the boundaries of the Route 28 Highway Transportation Improvement District. The most recently elected members who began their terms January 20, 2016, and will serve through January 19, 2020, are:

From Loudoun County
Mary Beth Avedesian, B. F. Saul Company 
Ted Lewis, GeoConcepts Engineering
James Policaro, Lerner Enterprises 
Carl Fritsche Jr., Tart Lumber Company
Michael Huber, Belfort Furniture
Charles Thornton, Orbital ATK

From Fairfax County
Kathy Barahona, McWhorter, LLC 
Sami Satouri, Quest Office LLC 
Christopher Zumot, Zumot Real Estate.
Scott Crabtree, Pohanka Lexus
William (Bill) Keech Jr., The Keech Company
Jeffrey J. Fairfield, Jeffery J.  Fairfield, PC

The Route 28 Tax District Advisory Board meets annually in March of each year at the call of the chairman. The 2017 meeting was held March 31, 2017, at the Route 28 Public- Private Transportation Act (PPTA) Office, 45240 Business Court, Suite 100 in Sterling. The meeting was preceded by a meeting of the Route 28 Landowners Advisory Board at the same location on the same day.

If other meetings are necessary, the chairman sends out a notice calling for a meeting. The meetings are posted on the Loudoun County Government Master Calendar.

Staff Contact
The staff contact for the Route 28 Tax District Advisory Board is Susan Glass of the Loudoun County Department of Transportation and Capital Infrastructure. Phone: 703-777-0251.

Loudoun On
Site Tools