Go To Search
Click to Home
Site Tools
2014 Winners
In 2014, the Joint Architectural Review Board (JARB) awarded six Historic District Design Excellence Awards in four categories and four Community Blue Ribbon Awards.  The awards were presented on May 15th at a ceremony at the Thomas Birkby House in the Leesburg Historic District.  The awards presentation was part of the annual event hosted in partnership with the Loudoun Preservation Society.

The 2014 Joint Architectural Review Board Award Winners are:

 Journeymen Saddlers
Category: Signage
Project: Journeymen Saddlers
Property: 2 W. Federal Street, Middleburg Historic District
Owner: Punkin Lee

The JARB recognized Journeymen Saddlers for this sensitive signage which incorporates the coat of arms of the Saddler’s Company in London in the 17th century.  The sign is hand-carved wood and reflects the equestrian history and is respectful of the historic character of Middleburg.

 Phillips Farm Interpretive Signage
Category: Signage
Project: Phillips Farm Interpretive Signage
Property: Old Wheatland Road, Waterford Historic District
Owner: The Waterford Foundation

After purchasing the 144 acre Phillips Farm property, the Waterford Foundation sought approval for three signs within the pull-off area to enhance the interpretive experience.   From these three signs, visitors can learn about the history of the farm and in particular, the importance of transportation to get the farm products to market, the natural environment of the farm and how all of these elements combined to support the growth of Waterford as an important commercial center.

The JARB recognized the Waterford Foundation for their efforts in designing quality signage which is both informative and visually pleasing but also to recognize them for the extensive efforts taken to preserve the character of this important farm.

Photo Credit: David Guiney

 St. John The Apostle Roman Catholic Church
Category: New Construction
Project: St. John the Apostle Roman Catholic Church
Property: 101 Oak Crest Manor Drive NE, Leesburg Old & Historic District
Owner: Catholic Diocese of Arlington

The newly constructed church, located just outside of Leesburg's historic district, is a substantial addition to the streetscape at the northern edge of downtown.  The overall design and materials of the structure reflect the historic building character of Leesburg while clearly identifying the building as new construction.  The project was approved by the Leesburg BAR as submitted, rare for a project of such magnitude.  The JARB recognized the project for successfully executing the difficult task of blending new construction in the context of the historic district. 

 Salamander Resort and Spa
Category: New Construction
Project: Salamander Resort and Spa
Property: 500 N. Pendleton Street, Middleburg Historic District
Owner: Salamander Hotels (Sheila C. Johnson, CEO and Prem Devadas, President)

Set on 340 acres at the heart of Virginia’s Horse Country, Salamander Resort & Spa was designed in the “hunt country” style to blend into its natural environment and respect the historic character of Middleburg.  The buildings are nestled amongst the woods to protect viewsheds from the historic Town of Middleburg and resort owner, Sheila C. Johnson, has created an environmentally sensitive destination by placing a majority of the resort's acreage into a conservation easement, and registering to become one of the first luxury destination resorts in the United States to achieve LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification.

Photo Courtesy of Salamander Resort 

 Catoctin Creek Distilling Company
Category: Restoration and Rehabilitation
Project: Catoctin Creek Distilling Company
Property: 120 W. Main Street, Purcellville Historic District
Owner: Scott & Becky Harris

Catoctin Creek Distilling Company is located in the heart of Purcellville’s historic commercial area in a one-story brick building, built in 1921 as a Buick Automobile Dealership, and has housed numerous other commercial uses throughout its history, most notably as Sam Case’s furniture store.

The distillery purchased the historic building in 2012. Exterior renovations included structural repair to the roof, the re-opening of windows which had been bricked over for years on the side elevation, extensive masonry repair, a new wooden double door designed to mimic the store front windows was added in an existing opening to accommodate deliveries and a 41kWh solar array on the roof of the building which provides 80% of the electricity for the distillery. Updated signage and lighting were added to complete the exterior facade rehabilitation.

 Epes Residence Restoration Before
 Epes Residence Restoration After
Category: Restoration and Rehabilitation
Project: Epes Residence Restoration
Property: Sands Road, Goose Creek Historic District
Owner: Gail & Perry Epes

The JARB presented Gail and Perry Epes a 2014 Design Excellence for the restoration of their 18th century home in the Goose Creek Historic District.  The structure was built in 1760 and had fallen into disrepair.  In the mid 20th century, all of the original windows were replaced with metal sashes and the basement entry was covered over with an addition.  The owners worked with Allen Cochran of Cochran’s Stone Masonry to lovingly restore the structure.  The metal sash windows were replaced with reclaimed wood windows and the 1950s small addition was slightly expanded to increase ever so slightly the modest living space.  The screen porch and small deck on the front elevation was removed and replaced with a more appropriately styled open porch.  Much of the original stones and pointing remained in place but were repaired as needed.  The award was presented not only in appreciation for the well done restoration of the 18th century structure but also in appreciation for  their dedication to preserving a  small, rural home without expanding it's size to meet contemporary expectations.

 Rural Roads Committee
Category: Community Blue Ribbon
Project: The Loudoun Preservation & Conservation Coalition – Rural Roads Committee

The Rural Roads Committee was formed to address the appropriate approach for the care, maintenance, repair and upkeep of Loudoun’s rural road system in a manner that preserves such a vital part of the County’s heritage.  The members of the Committee worked tirelessly on in depth research to present to local elected officials and VDOT to support the case that proper maintenance of rural roads was in many instances more cost effective than paving thereby preserving the essence of the historic areas of the County.  With the support of the Board of Supervisors, Delegate Minchew, and Senator Vogel, the efforts of the coalition were formally recognized when a bill was passed in the 2014 session of the General Assembly regarding the maintenance of Loudoun’s rural roads.  The bill included many of the recommendations of the Coalition and the coalition continues their efforts to protect the rural roads and historic character of Loudoun County.

 Goodstone Inn
Community Blue Ribbon
Project: Goodstone Inn
Property: 36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg

The Inn exemplifies the protection, preservation and enhancement of historic buildings and landscape despite its location outside a locally designated district.  The current pool house was built as a residence in 1915 by the Goodwin Family and the manor house was constructed in the 1930s by Frederick Warburg.   The current owners purchased the property in 1996 after witnessing the beauty and rich historic character of the property.  The Inn has been in operation since 1998 offering visitors to Middleburg the opportunity to experience one of the County’s finest estates.  The JARB recognized the Goodstone Inn as a prime example of heritage resource protection and a true Community Blue Ribbon. 

Photo Courtesy of Goodstone Inn 

 Bridges' School House Restoration Before
 Bridges' School House Restoration After
Category: Community Blue Ribbon
Project: Bridges’ School House Restoration at Claude Moore Park
Property: 21544 Old Vestals Gap Road, Sterling

The historic Bridges’ Schoolhouse at Claude Moore Park sat neglected for many years before the Friends of Claude Moore Park, in cooperation with the County and Claude Moore Park staff, began the monstrous task to restore the one room school building.  Built in 1870, the structure is a simple one-room schoolhouse with small living quarters for the school teacher above.  The building has been lovingly restored by the Friends of Claude Moore Park over the course of the last thirteen years.  Their restoration includes the removal of tar paper “siding” replaced by the beautiful board and batten siding seen here, repairs to the historic windows, repairs to damaged plaster and restoring the interior to the 1870 appearance.

 Leesburg 50th Anniversary.JPG
Category: Community Blue Ribbon
Project: The 50th Anniversary of the Leesburg Old & Historic District and Board of  
Architectural Review
Property: Town of Leesburg

The final award of 2014 was presented to the Town of Leesburg in recognition and celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the Board of Architectural Review and the Old & Historic District. 

Spearheaded by the late B. Powell Harrison and former town council member Stanley Caulkins after the demolition of the Leesburg Inn and Opera House, the Leesburg Old and Historic District was established by the Leesburg Town Council in 1963.  The District is the oldest in the County and was created three years before the National Historic Preservation Act – proving that Stanley and B. Powell were ahead of the times.

The town is a standing testament to the benefits of preservation and is in itself a “community blue ribbon” thanks to the hard work and dedication of the founders of the district but also to the faithful residents of the community who serve as stewards of the district by lovingly caring for their historic properties, patronizing the historic downtown shops and restaurants, or serving
on the Board of Architectural Review.

Loudoun On
Site Tools